Yes you can!

3 May

Learning to ride a bicycle, generally happens once in your life. Little practice makes for rusty riding, but once you get that feeling of equilibrium, you tend to hold it for life. It’s like the body. Your heart doesn’t need reminding, your digestive system doesn’t need reminding, the body is constantly returning to its equilibrium.

This is a picture of my daughter today, learning to ride her bike. This is the bike that she insisted we buy her when it was still too big for her, with a picture of a piranha and the word Radical on the tube’s padding. Her feet finally touch the ground when she sits on the seat and so we decided, it was time to take off the training wheels and give it a go.

She knew that while we would hold the bar for her for a while, we would at some point, have to let go. This made her very nervous. Trying new things makes many of us nervous. Whether it’s riding a bike, or giving a presentation, or trying a new food or preparing a feast for guests, or learning a new language or going to new places – holding the mantra so generously taught to us by the Little Engine that Could close: “I think I can, I think I can, I know I can, I know I can, Yes I can!” – can be the difference between success, and that place of almost there, but not quite.

Happy May.

One Response to “Yes you can!”

  1. Martha Desrosiers May 3, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Inspiring!! Even at my old age – the story that if we keep trying we can do that which we set out to do fills me with courage and hope. Thanks for sharing!!!!

Leave a Reply

