Seven habits to eating more mindfully and with more awareness

7 Mar

Harvard nutritionist, Dr. Lillian Cheung who co-wrote “Savor: Mindful Eating, Mindful Life” with Nobel Peace Prize nominee Thich Nhat Hanh outlines seven habits of mindful eating:

1. Honor the food: We should appreciate where our food comes from, and acknowledge the steps it took to arrive on our plate.

2. Engage all of your senses: Focus on the tastes, sight, beauty, aroma, touch, texture, and sound of your food.

3. Be mindful of portion sizes: Start your meal with a modest amount, and buy dinner plates that are no larger than 9 inches.  Research has shown that the larger the plate, the more one will eat.

4. Chew your food: Chewing helps us to digest our food due to the enzymes in our saliva. The taste of our food comes from chewing, and once we swallow we no longer taste it.

5. Eat slowly: Eating slowly allows us to enjoy the food and taste it better. As a result we eat less.

6. Do not skip meals: If you are very hungry, you end up eating more in one sitting then you would have if you spread your meals out each day.

7. Eat a plant based diet: Vegetables are filled with wonderful nutrients that help our bodies in numerous ways.

Photo courtesy of healthyyouradio.com

5 Responses to “Seven habits to eating more mindfully and with more awareness”

  1. theslowlowdown March 7, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Great tips!

  2. Sam April 9, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    These are great tips. I think another important thing to do is set time aside for eating meals. I sometimes have stuff to do on my lunch hour that takes me out of the office, so I will eat my lunch while I’m working on the computer. This usually leaves me pretty unsatisfied because I haven’t taken the time to actually enjoy eating good food (and considering I always bring lunch from home, I’m doing a bit of a disservice to all the time I spent preparing it too!).

    Thanks to your post for reminding me to be a bit more mindful about when, what, how and where I am eating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

