Flora’s seasonal recipe: roasted vegetable puree

11 Oct

4744510812_15f1812af3It may look like baby food, but boy is it good!

Get creative with your fall vegetables and puree them into a smooth and soothing dish.

As the weather gets cooler, drizzlier and damp, I turn to warming foods that will ground me and make me feel great inside and out.

I was so cold the other day that I decided to preheat my oven and roast vegetables, since it’s my favorite dish. This time though, I wanted something more fluid vs. chewy so I thought, why not blend my roasted veggies with a little bit of water, and make a puree?

Instead of stopping at the roasting stage, I went one step further. That one step made my day so much warmer!

Here is how:

Makes 4-5 cups

Ingredients:

  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 4 celery sticks, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 2 medium sized potatoes, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary (optional)
  • pinch of salt
  • a few grinds of pepper
  • 2-3 cups water, the more you add, the soupier it will get

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400F. Rinse and chop up you carrots, celery, potatoes and chop your red onion (if you have different vegetables lying around, use those up instead). Add olive oil, salt, pepper, rosemary and mix. Place in the oven for 30-40 minutes, depending on how small you chopped your veggies. Stir them midway to make sure they’re cooking on all sides. Once lightly brown, soft, and fragrant remove from the oven. Add veggies into a big bowl, then add water. Blend with an immersion blender (or food processor) until smooth. If you blend less, you’ll get a chunkier consistency. Serve immediately, and garnish with some rosemary, and a drizzle of olive oil if you’d like. If you make too much, you can always save some for lunch the next day.

Photo courtesy of Miss Messie

Leave a Reply

