Flora’s seasonal recipe: comforting lentils

9 Nov

One of my favorite foods growing up was lentils (yes, it’s true!).

My mom used to make lentils with olive oil, sprinkle of parmigiano regiano and a dash of salt. I always treasured the times that she made this dish, as it always made feel great.

Eating these lovely legumes on a cold fall or winter day, warmed me up, and lifted my spirits. It made me feel calm, centered and healthfully full.

Every time I ate a bowl of lentils, I could feel my iron levels increase dramatically, as my mom would always tell me how high in iron they were. Popeye and I had some things in common! Women need a good amount of iron, and I always turned to lentils instead of taking an iron supplement.

Little did I know that lentils not only contained high level of iron, they also contain protein, fiber, folate and magnesium which are great for building muscle, improving digestion, strengthening your nervous system, and improving blood circulation. Go lentils!

A bowl of lentils is one of the easiest recipes out there, so get excited for these very short directions! To make the meal more balanced you can always mix it up with some brown rice, quinoa or add it into tomato sauces, and pastas.

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

Directions:
Bring your water to a boil, add lentils. Lower to a simmer, and cook for 30-40 minutes (depending on the lentils you use). Once cooked, and water fully absorbed, add your lentils to your favorite bowl. Drizzle with olive oil, then mix. Top with fresh parmigiano reggiano cheese, a dash of salt. Sit and savor each bite.

“Let things taste of what they are.”
-Alice Waters

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

