enjoying food the Butter Beans way

15 Apr

225071_499064973454665_451393431_nWe are blessed to have a wonderful team of food service staff nourishing our students everyday at lunch-time.

We received this post from Shaquanna, who has been working with us for two years, and wanted to share her journey with you all.

Why I love Butter Beans

When I used to hear the term “lunch lady,” I immediately envisioned a woman in a hair net slapping visually unappealing food down on a plastic lunch tray.

Working with Butter Beans has allowed me to develop a new vision of what school lunch means. We truly are changing the way America thinks about school lunch!

With food being at the very core of our physical survival, the quality of the food we eat directly impacts our health and well-being.

As a Food Service Supervisor, I take pride in the work that I do since it makes a difference in the lives of the kids we serve. By serving high quality, nutrient dense food to children I know that we are positively impacting these kids’ lives for years to come.

Before working for Butter Beans my eating habits were far from what I wanted them to be. I grew up on a processed food diet. As an adult these foods continued to be my main sources of “nutrition.”

After having children of my own, I wanted to be more conscious of the foods I ate. Since good eating habits begin at home, I knew that I had to make changes in my diet so that my daughters would follow my example.

Although I wanteBHGRsfXCAAAfYqK.jpg-larged to change, I didn’t really know where to start. I didn’t know much about organic, or processed foods until years after my daughters were born. But that didn’t stop me from implementing small health changes as my food knowledge grew.

With that in mind, my experience at Butter Beans has helped me tremendously. Working with them has given me so many insights on healthy eating that I am really grateful for!

I have learned that eating healthy can be inspiring and fun. I’ve also been exposed to new foods such as quinoa and hummus, which I had never tasted or heard of before Butter Beans. I’ve even learned to come up with healthy new recipes based on our lunch menus!

Butter Beans has become an inseparable part of my life, my thanks to them for helping me on my road to health and wellness.

I will continue to incorporate healthy food choices in my everyday life so that my family and I can continue to live healthy, happy lives!

Leave a Reply

